www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

China Reunion and the Possums go marching home

2005-05-30

We went to a China trip reunion on Saturday. It was strange and really kind of fun.

We spent 24 days with people we hardly new. On planes, trains, buses, and taxis. At the end of the 24 days, I didn�t really feel like I knew these people, but I did know that we had shared a special experience. When you spend that much concentrated time with people, you do know something about them.

You know the lady who has knee problems, but never whines and never makes a pain of herself. She goes where she can go and enjoys every minute of the trip, shopping for herself, her children and her grandchildren at every possible opportunity. And spreading that good ol� American cash all over the world in the process.

And her husband. Good husband, good American, and good Catholic. In that order, I think. He also knew that I was quoting �The Princess Bride� when I said �And never start a land war in Asia� while we were touring the Cambodian Khmer Rouge museum. Points for life on my list.

The ditsy but sweet artist. Always positive.

The ladies who have been friends of my mom since she came to California when she was 20-ish. Ladies that I admire and enjoyed spending time with.

We watched the video dad had made of the trip. In the past he charged for it. This time, his last time, he gave it away. He really couldn�t charge what it cost him to make, so he gave it away. I�m hoping he doesn�t see this as his last hurrah. We�ve been talking about cruising the Amazon.

Yesterday, at the end of the day, the Spouse came running down the stairs saying there was a possum in back of the house. I told him to bring down the babies. He ran up and brought down the box. We ran out back and I walked quietly over to the possum and put down the box. It ran into the yard next door and out the front.

We brought the babies inside. I filled up a gallon bottle with warm water, put the box just outside the back gate with the warm water bottle inside. The adult possum came back. 40 minutes later, the babies were out of the box, one in view and one not. But there were noises behind the air conditioner consistent with something larger than a baby possum. Spouse put the baby that was in sight near the back of the air conditioner and we have seen sight nor hair since. A good outcome for all.

I didn�t think the mom would take them back, but I couldn�t see any reason for her to come back so soon after being scared away.

This is the best possible outcome I could have hoped for.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter