www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Interesting developments and Mother's Day

2005-05-17

Being a temporary employee opens your horizons, whether you like it or not.

I find myself doing what I've never wanted to do, working for the government.

At the very outmost edges of the government, mind you. But the government nonetheless. If you call the city that grew up in the shadow of the mouse, I answer the phone. At least for the next 8 weeks.

It's actually kind of interesting. You don't actually have to know very much; you just have to know who does.

Not really a high stress job. Of course I've only been at it for two days. The person I'm filling in for, who is going to a new job at the end of the week had a whole big list of all of her various responsibilities, has one thing left to explain to me.

The responsibilities, other than answering the phone, no big deal; the knowing who to go to for what, a very big deal. But I was on the phone by myself for more than two hours today, my second day on the job. I found out that I misdirected one phone call yesterday and felt bad about all afternoon. I know how it feels to get caught in voice-mail hell; I hate the thought of consigning someone else to that.

On a much brighter note, Mom has improved greatly over the last week or so.

She and I went out yard-saling this weekend. I figured it would be more of a social thing than something constructive, but it ended up being both. I told her that it was my Mother's Day present; I got my Mom back. I can't ask for more than that.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter