www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Changes

2005-02-19

Been rather an eventful week for me. Life has been very placid since we got back from China.

First and foremost, I finished the Blanket of Leaves.

I�ve been working on it almost daily for the past two years. I�m very happy with the way it turned out; it�s covering our bed right now. But I am glad to be done with it. I�ve got so many projects on my list that it�s a great relief to have this one out of the way.

Unfortunately I showed it to Middle Sister. She wanted me to make a pillow along the same lines for her. I didn�t quite give her a flat out �No,� but pretty close. Along the lines of �I worked on this for over 2 years; I don�t feel like working on anything like it anytime soon.� She sent an e-mail the next day outlining her schedule. Not going to happen.

One good thing about working on it so regularly for the past couple of years, I can�t do without something for my hands to do. I wake up every morning ready to work on my current project. I�m now working on an illustration I started a long time ago, but wasn�t happy with. During a critical part of the drawing, I picked up the wrong pencil. I basically drew a mustache on a female character. I tried hard to fix it at the time, but wasn�t happy.

Since finishing the quilt I restarted the drawing and am now working on it, carefully. I�m happy with it so far.

Yesterday, I had 7 inches of hair cut off. Since I stopped working last year I�ve been letting it grow. But I have to go back to work soon, and a close-to-50-year-old woman doesn�t really look all that professional with hair down to her shoulder blades. Especially one with thin, stringy hair. If I had thicker hair I�d say to hell with convention and leave it long. But I don�t. And it�s not like I did anything stylewise with it. I put it in ponytail every day for the last nine months.

The woman who�s cut my hair for the last 20 years (along with Mom�s and Youngest Sister�s) said, �Are you sure?� before she actually got started. I told her to go ahead. My only regret is that my hair wasn�t long enough to donate.

On an entirely different subject, it�s raining again. As in, it sounds like a waterfall; there�s three inches of standing water on the patio and the atrium is filling up again.

Last night we had a six hour thunderstorm. Midnight until past six. That doesn�t happen in California. Jeeze, I kept dreaming that it was an earthquake. Earthquakes rumbling the bed are more like than thunderstorms. A thunderstorm in SoCal is likely to be three thunderclaps and a half inch of rain. Not six hours of regular lightening and three and a half inches of rain.

I guess I should just get used to it. The world climate is changing, no matter the denial from our �president.�

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter