www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Summer to come

2005-01-26

My folks are looking to rent another house for the whole family this summer, as they did a year and a half ago. Youngest sister found a prospect and Mom proposed going up to look at it. I said that I�d go, too. Just for the heck of it. So Mom called this weekend and we went up the coast yesterday to give it a look.

Unfortunately the house looks crappy, at least for our family. If you�re a beer swilling, partyin�, 20-something person, who doesn�t mind coming home with scars from all the ATV traffic on the beach, it�d probably be just your kind of place. But if you�ve got people between 7 and 70 and some of them actually like to sleep at night, give it up. There were six barbeques; two of them worked, the rest of them were in pieces, hazardous pieces, surrounding the house.

There were other downsides, like a kitchen that was more like a closet with a stove than a kitchen. And you had to go through one of the bedrooms to reach the bathroom in one area of the house. In another of the bedrooms, you would have to get into the bed one person at a time, as three of the four walls were pretty much occupied by the bed.

All of the above would have been minor if we didn�t think the traffic on the beach would be a hazard for the kids. So we pulled the names of some realtors out of the phonebook and drove home. I do home that we can find someplace. I enjoyed it the last time we did this. And I�ve a feeling that we�d better make the best of the time we have. I�m not sure how well our family will survive beyond my parents.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter