www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Sunshine

2005-02-27

What with all the rain lately, the cats and I have been going stir crazy. The cats run around, yowing to go out, even though they can see the rain through the windows. Including the one upstairs in our bedroom that�s open.

So I open the front door, with three disconsolate cats peering around my legs. Rain. Again. Then they look at me as if I have the ability to turn it off and it�s all my fault that it�s raining. And damn if I don�t feel guilty about it, even though I want to go out and play in the yard as much as they do.

So early this week, when the sun finally showed up in the sky again, we all went outside. General sunsilly insued.

Kitt finally discovered the new cat lawn I planted in a toy wagon.

I figure if you�re going to have a lawn dedicated to the use of cats, it might as well be decorative in addition to useful. I�m looking forward to the day I pull him around the patio in it. He�s sure to like it, he can tour his domain.

Ash found the highest spot possible to catch the last golden hour of sunlight before the end of the day. She�s a generally happy cat, but I don�t think I�ve ever seen her so contented.

Who needs yard ornaments when you something like this? Ambulatory and likely to take up a graceful pose at any moment. I see cat sculptures in catalogs all the time. And think, no, the real ones are more beautiful, and more fun. Haven�t had a sculpture purr at me yet.

Youngest sister is going to the Academy Awards. I�ve been elected babysitter. I love my sister and am looking forward to spending time with her kids. Not looking forward to the 60 mile drive.

The Wonderful Spouse has set up the Tivo and DVR to record all of the red carpet parts, which I almost always miss. It�s the only part of the show usually want to watch. Besides, if Youngest Sister and Spouse are actually shown walking down the red carpet, we can record it on DVD.

Poor Youngest Sister. I think she�s kind of apprehensive because my spouse will not be coming with me to babysit. He�s the one with actual child care experience. She�ll just have to deal; I always err on the side of caution. They may have to go to bed at 6:30, but they�ll still be alive when they get home.

I knew it was time I called my temp agency and got back to work, but I was putting it off. So, of course, they called me. A company I worked for last year was looking for people.

They have five requisitions and no candidates, but my name came up on their records, and they decided to check with me. The job is temp to perm, which I don�t want. And thirty-five traffic-filled miles away, which I really don�t want.

But after I got off of the phone with the agency, I started thinking. I could offer to be a stopgap. Not someone permanent, but someone who can come in and do the job until someone more geographically appropriate comes along. I already know their software and general business system. I could walk in and work.

So I called back and offered. It would be of benefit to both me, the agency, and the customer. I get a couple month�s pay, the agency gets time to find someone more appropriate and the customer gets someone who can walk in and start working right away. Not too bad, all around.

So I�m thinking that by next week, I�ll be working. Craaap. There goes all my free time.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter