www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

More rainy weekends

2006-04-03

The weather has been annoying the crap out of me lately. It rains on the weekends. Sometimes during the week, too, but mostly on the weekend. So even if I felt like getting outside and doing yard work, it�s out of the question. And no yard sales, which I could use right now.

I�ve done the math and it looks like if I keep $50 out of every paycheck and bank the rest between now and when we go I will be able to pay for the Amazon trip without taking anything out of savings. I think that is an unlikely goal, but I am improving my chances by doing all the things I can to save money. So far that consists mostly of brown-bagging my lunch and throwing away catalogs before looking at them.

I�ve been hoping to supplement my income with a little bit more intense yard saling, but because of the above rains, that hasn�t been able to happen. Gonna have to keep my eye out for estate sales. They do tend to be indoors more often.

I did get out into the yard some on Sunday. I should have been working at my vine hacking, but just couldn�t work myself up to the mess on that one. Vine bits end up everywhere, most often in my hair and down the collar. So I instead I did a lot of sweeping and weed pulling.

I took Spud, my baby red-footed tortoise out with me. I put him in one of the pots with a ginger plant in it so he could get some real-life sunlight, but also have shade available. I put a dandelion and some lettuce in with him so he could snack.

I�ve got one plant that I have to get rid of. I�m not sure what it is; it looks like a very feathery bamboo. I love the way it looks, the way it waves and rustles in the wind, but it sheds like a big, hairy dog. There are clumps of the stuff all over the place. I do not need the additional mess. I have enough ways to create messes without it. I think I am going to cut it down, trim the leaves and keep the stalks, though. Little miniature bamboo stalks. There has to be a use for them in one of my projects.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter