www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Shop Around the World

2004-01-16

I'm a little behind on my '500 Miles to Nowhere' mileage. At least I found out I was behind early in the year, while it's still possible to make it up.

Worked in my folks yard again on Tuesday. Finished working on the areas that have been most neglected. The next visit will be just general maintenance, weeding etc.

One of the good things about California is the diversity of it's population. Went on a shopping trip yesterday. Stopped at a produce market that caters to a mostly Mexican clientelle. Got some good produce at decent prices. In back of the shop they had an area set up where they sell plants under colored umbrellas.

Then I went to an Asian market. That place is worth going to even if you don't buy anything. They make announcements of their specials in at least four different languages, including Enlish.

The assortment of items available is fascinating. All sorts of Asian baked goods, dried fish, live fish, live crabs and clams. The seasoning aisle is a mystery. Many items have no English description outside of the nutritional information.

The section is fun, too. And everything there is labeled in Enlish. Don't often see fresh bamboo shoots and lotus root in the local market.

So, taking advantage of the unusual produce, tonight we are having steak in black pepper bean sauce, marinated lotus root and grilled shitake mushrooms. Fun stuff!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter