www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Itching and Shopping

2004-01-21

I have not slept well for the past two days for a couple of reasons. And I'm feeling disconnected and disjointed because of it.

I feel really stupid about reason number one. Never, ever, wear brand-new clothes before you've washed them. Did you know that they use formaldehyde in the manufacture of clothing? I didn't, but I nearly always wash new things before I wear them.

I wore a recently-bought t-shirt to work in the yard. One that I hadn't yet bothered to wash and for the last two days I've been covered with a rash that makes me feel like someone is periodically poking me with a pin. Ouch! Not greatly conducive to restful sleep.

Add to this that the spouse was out of town on a meeting last night. That makes sleep even harder. It takes at least three days to get used to (or exhausted enough to) sleep without him. Fortunately for me, he'll be home shortly. And I went to a dermatologist that gave me a cortisone injection and some lotion that has greatly reduced the itching/poking.

I'm very glad that the spouse will be home tonight. Whether or not we're in the same room, I always feel his presence. Not alone, you know?

I went over to my folks house today, after visiting the dermatologist, and did the general maintenance that I promised. It's only been a couple of weeks that I've been doing it, but I enjoy going over there, and I feel that my parents enjoy having me. That I do something that is halfway useful to them is just a side benefit.

Mom, youngest sister and I are going shopping tomorrow. Mom called and invited me along Monday. Seems youngest sister had asked for a couple of somethings for Christmas and they were no longer available so they had decided on a shopping trip. She did the same last year when youngest sister asked for a shopping trip for her birthday. So I told youngest sister that I was horning in on her shopping trip with Mom again, and she should pick someplace that had good choices for lunch, as that was my favorite part.

I lied, really. My favorite part is spending time with my mom and my sister.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter