www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

My Feet are in Mortal Danger

2003-06-03

I've been a bad girl today. I kicked the Biddy Brigade, also known as the homeowners association, out of our yard.

The painters were due to start today; this I already knew. There were still a few things I wanted to get moved out of the yard so they had more room to work, so I got up pretty early and went out to move them. I overheard the painters talking to someone and I could pretty much tell that they were talking about our yard.

First the painter came in and said if we didn't take the vines down that he couldn't paint those areas. And if we pulled the vines down later we would be responsible for paint the newly exposed areas. I wanted to say 'No duh!' but he was being so nice about it that I couldn't.

Then he came back again with one of the members of the Biddy Brigade and reiterated what he'd said originally. I said thank you. That was fine with me.

Then he came back with another member of the Biddy Brigade. She started to take a tour of the yard. I told her I hadn't invited her in. She asked if she could go look. Instead of saying yes I asked her what she wanted to know. Then we went into the whole responsibility bit one more time.

They left. Now the painters are out there, scraping and hosing. If our homeowners association decides to make too much trouble, they'll just slow things down. I'm thinking we should lobby for single term of office for the board. Those people get into office and stay there for years. It's like set in concrete.

Meanwhile, I have another argument to settle. The cats are fighting it out for hiding space under my desk. All of the noise and activity is freaking them out. My feet are in mortal danger!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter