www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Christmas and Uh Oh

2002-12-22

Been a very busy weekend. At least for me. On Friday we went to see "The Two Towers." It's been reviewed to death and I still haven't figured out how I feel about it, so I won't do that here.

On Satuday the Wonderful Spouse and I went to a block party at my folks house. Well, not at their house, but next to it. I still haven't decided why I like these parties. I've been to the last three. I know only a few of the people. The people that live on either side of my parents. A few people that bought their houses at the same time my parents did (first and only owners of the homes) and my youngest sister. They set up fires in old washing machine agitators. They look like giant colanders. Holes all over. Almost everyone brings something. Mom brought chili. My sister, her family, spouse and I brought ourselves and were made to feel that was enough.

Today we went to see Spouse's mom in San Bernardino, armpit of the world. I couldn't believe how much better it looked. Kind of like when I hosed off the patio. All fresh and new. All the brown, trash-filled empty lots have a layer of green covering the yuck. The air was clear. Wind, rain, wind, rain, wind. That is the only thing that will equal clean air in San Bernardino.

We had brunch at the Mission Inn. It's a nice place. One of the few in the area. I love looking at the architecture. And the brunch is wonderful. Roast beast, in several flavors, always one of my favorites. The usual waffle-pancake-omlette bar. And this year, creme brulee. I had that first, in case they ran out. Which, of course, they never did. I wanted to have a second, but I didn't.

For us, it was a really busy weekend. I still have a couple of projects to finish before Christmas, but I'm not too concerned.

I am concerned about going back to work. On Friday I received an e-mail from my old boss. Gone since October. He sent me and one other person an e-mail about the The Darwin Awards. As a general rule I really like the Darwin Awards. Stupidity so extreme that the results are fatal. But I've never said anything about that to anyone at work. I doubt many of them would appreciate it. But receiving the e-mail when I did, and under the circumstances I did, makes me uncomfortable. I've never sent jokes to my old boss. And I haven't communicated with him since he's left. That, combined with the fact that he sent it to me and one other person, neither of whom he was close to, makes me a bit jittery. I really don't want to go back to work Monday. Tomorrow. Is it too late to tell HR?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter