www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Unemployment? Bah! Humbug!

2002-12-16

So.

On Thursday I had lunch with a co-worker. He told me he was applying at another company. I asked if there were any other jobs available. He said yes. Then he told me about the company and the salary range. I told him I'd be interested. It was less than I wanted to take, but I'd still be interested.

I thought about it some more. I looked at their web site. I decided I was really interested. A woman-owned business. A small business doing well enough to have medical, dental and profit sharing.

He took my card and gave it to them. On Friday they called. On the land line. The one we use for Tivo and not much else. My husband asked if it was important. It was. I spoke to one of the owners for a few minutes. There was enthusiasm. On both sides.

Today at lunch I went for an interview. I said things they wanted to hear. They were true things. I am a multi purpose person. I have many skills that I am able and willing to apply to make this business be easier to run. I had thought about it first. I had thought about their business. The size of it. The resources they have. The things I could add to their resources. Then I told them about what I could do for them.

I felt good about that. I didn't lie to them. I told them the unvarnished truth. I still feel good about it. I will be able to add my skills to a team that needs them. And, I will be able to add a whole new set of jokes to my repetoire. More on this later.

Not to mention the fact that I got a really nice Christmas present.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter