www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Bowling in the Aisles

2002-10-02

I've been watching heads roll all morning and wondering if the next one will be mine. I told my husband I felt like a specator in my own life. He said it was like watching a semi careening out of control, waiting and wondering if it will hit you. A frightenly apt analogy, having been hit by a semi. And I watched it spin towards me. There was a rumor last night that three of our managers were losing their jobs. This morning it has, almost, through the grapevine, been confirmed. The restructuring meeting at eleven seems to support it. Now, two hours of waiting for the meeting. Gossip is flying faster than light speed, with a new bit every two minutes.

- - Waiting for meeting.

- - Waiting for meeting.

- - Waiting for freakin' meeting! Long damn two hours!

The meeting is over. Four managers. Including our director. Including my boss! My fortune cookie said I had a pleasant surprise waiting. Now that it's actually true, I'm not at all happy about it.

There were tears. Our director, one heck of a public speaker, choked up. All of the women cried. Despite my mixed feelings about our director, he's one hell of leader. Passionate man, passionately committed to making this company successful.

We're seeing the end of one person whose contribution to the success of the company I have always questioned. Definitely a salary better spent elsewhere.

Everyone is exhausted. We peons walk around looking at one another like ghosts at our own funeral. Stare at each other. Talk in whispers. Go back to desk, stare at screen and do nothing. No one wants to work.

Our idiot admin suggested we have some sort of function late afternoon. Go to a bar. Soon-to-be-ex director wisely vetoed. Just what we need. Go to a bar, get hopelessly plastered and cry.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter