www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Lessons Learned

2002-09-30

Whew! That last entry was a load off of my mind. I've had bits of it written down before, but never all at once. And it's probably still not all there. But the important parts are. The echos may follow me down forever, but most of what's left is actually good stuff. Like I have a better appreciation for my health. I don't actually take that much better care of myself, but I appreicate days where nothing goes wrong. The human machine is so complex I'm amazed that anything ever goes right!

I appreciate the value of my time. My only irreplaceable resource. And I may run out of it tomorrow. I believe it. I thought I was out of time. Or at least out of any time that I would enjoy being alive.

I watched my Dad go through this a couple of years ago. He found out he had prostate cancer. He had ugly and painful surgery; where even a positive result had many negative consequences. He thought and said that he probably only had a couple of years left. I thought that maybe it was late in life to learn the lesson that you are not immortal. I wanted to say that while it was possible he was right, it was also possible that he was wrong. And he could have good times yet to come. But it wasn't the time for me to talk about my experiences. It was time for us to help him through his.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter