www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

177

One can hope

2004-05-17

On some days joy flutters for a moment or two on painted wings. I released one of my hatchlings today and watched it wafted off into the sunshine. I�ve never thought of myself as moody, but I fear I must be if so small a thing can raise my spirits so much.

Also collected a few of the butterfly�s children.

The smallest hatchlings. They�re the hardest to find and the hardest to raise, but the wasps take a large toll on larger caterpillars. And the wasp population, unlike the bees, remains as normal. If I can keep the baby caterpillars alive through the first few days, they generally survive to fly.

I saw the goldfinches, too! I was so excited. They were pecking at the leaves of an enormous sunflower that sprouted in the front yard. I�d gone out shopping early on Saturday and when I came home they were there. I spent a long time watching them from my car window. I�m sure the neighbors thought I was nuts, sitting in the car looking out at nothing. Don�t care. I was happy. A mated pair of goldfinches eating my sunflower leaves. I don�t care what it is they need, I�m just happy to provide it, unsightly, pecked-at leaves be damned.

Oh, oh! I almost forgot. I saw a boy hummingbird this afternoon, his ruby throat gleaming in the afternoon sun. For a few seconds only. My exclamations caused him to go zipping away. Maybe the lonely little girl I took photos of the other day won�t be lonely for long. One can hope.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter