www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

One Man, One Voice

2003-09-16

Most adults of my species have children of their own. Biological decendents of their flesh.

I've known for a decade that this was something I would never have.

So I try to pass my love into the future in other ways. I care for my planet. I did that before I knew I would never have children.

I try to pass my beliefs to others. I don't force them on others; that would make me as bad as the people I despise. I think Christianity is evil. I think Christianity and the religions of the middle east will destroy our world. Each because they are sure they know the one truth. And everyone else is an infidel.

G-Dub is walking straight into his father's footsteps. Those stupid, self-righteous footsteps that his father walked a decade ago.

Except that he's decades dumber than his father ever was. More American soldiers have died since he declared the war was ended than before it started.

More people in Bagdhad are dying of gunshot wounds now than at any time before. Not American soldiers, regular citizens.

It seems to me that we've imported guns into another country. And that country does the same thing that we do with our guns. Kill themselves. How did that happen? Do our soldiers drop guns into the street as they walk? Gun deaths have more than doubled since we 'won the war.' Who wins when fathers fight? Who wins when children die? Who wins when mothers and wives mourn? The US has already lost. There is no country in the world that will take us seriously when we act like this. When we have a president like this. If we could rebuild Iraq, that might give me a little more faith in my government. A very little. A couple of weeks ago I told my husband that we deserve the president that we voted for. . . . . . Then I remembered. We didn't vote for him. He won by artifice. The electoral college. The time for that kind of government is gone. Now we can truly have "one man, one vote". Computers made that possible a decade ago. Insist on it. You have a voice. Let it be heard.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter