www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Blanket of Leaves

2002-11-13

My fingers have been wanting to sew. Although the weather has been beautiful, outside of the three days of badly needed rain, I'm spending more and more time indoors. I can only spend so much time on the computer and I can't watch television without having something to do with my hands. So I got out the quilt that I started sometime last year. I stopped working on it quite a while ago when I discovered I didn't really like what I'd done so far. But I ripped apart and restarted my last quilt four times before I was happy with it. So I decided that I could probably fix this one, too, if I started working on it again. Besides my fingers really wanted to be doing something.

So I've been working on it for the last week or so and I finally figured out what it was that I didn't like and how to fix it. Fortunately it won'r require taking the whole thing apart. Of course I took the last one apart for reasons of technical ineptitude, not design flaws. It's really hard to make a quilt with no straight lines except those on the borders.

I've named all my quilts. The last one was the 'Wave' quilt. Varying shades of blue in a wavy pattern diagonally from one corner to the other. It took me forever to figure out how to make the waves lay flat. I got it 1/4 done three times before I finally figured it out. I probably could have had the ladies in the quilt stores explain it to me, but the first one I asked looked at me like I was insane so I decided to figure it out on my own.

The one I'm working on now is 'Blanket of Leaves'. The backing is brown, the borders are orange, gold and black. I'm sewing leaves in fall colors all over the backing. I think it's going to look cool, although it will probably take forever to finish.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter