www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Missed Opportunity and E-bay

2002-08-16

So husband and I are having our joint birthday party tomorrow. Our birthdays are two weeks apart so we have a joint party on the weekend in the middle. Hmmm. Maybe I'll go home and clean stuff at lunch today. August is birthday hell in my family. My sisters birthday, my grandmother's birthday, my birthday, my wonderful husband's birthday. Yeesh! A consolidated birthday party is only sensible.

Thought about having the party at my folks house, they have a yard for the kids to play in, but we have a pool in our complex and that wins over a yard any day. I almost never pass up a chance to swim, especially with the kids. Besides, I have show off the new wood flooring.

For the last couple of years I've ended up baking my own birthday cake. I'm not much of a baker. I like cooking, it's an art. But baking, that's a science. Way too much like work. So I asked my mom to bake my cake this year. But I asked for pinapple upside down cake, but to add my own bit of the non-traditional.

Of course the birthday presents I ordered for spouse haven't shown up yet. The place I ordered them from didn't have ANY shipping options besides regular UPS ground. If they don't show up today he's going to get a box with a picture in it. And maybe a brick for weight.

Missed an opportunity for a good picture yesterday. We had a large dragonfly hovering around the ponds. It was almost four inches long and bright blue and green. It landed on one of my windchimes, one that I had re-strung with blue and green beads. I backed into the house to grab the camera which was only about five feet away, but it was gone by the time I got back. There was a gnashing of teeth. It did make me get the camera out and start snapping away.

I'm no longer an E-bay virgin. I finally bought something. Of course I didn't actually bid on anything, I just clicked the 'Buy it now' button. But I did buy something. Bought something I was going to buy anyway for less than half what I was going to pay for it, even including shipping costs. Good deal!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter