www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Small Treasures

2002-07-15

I found a treasure today!! It's a very small, very temporary treasure, but it's most definitely a treasure to me. I found a caterpillar on the underside of my umbrella today. I've seen three butterflys so far this year. Two cabage butterflies and gulf fritillary. Saw the fritillary for about forty five seconds the day before I went on vacation. Have seen no cabbage worms and only one other small, chewed and desiccated caterpillar corpse.

I should probably be glad. It means that my plants will survive another year. And in truth, the passion flower vine is thriving this year. It also probably means my garden is closer to balance than it's been before. The carnivores (wasps, etc.) are keeping the numbers of the herbivores (the caterpillars) in balance.

Still, I miss the upward rain of butterflys I had two years ago and this one small (very small) caterpillar is enough to cheer me.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter