www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Two Things

2002-06-15

I can't believe how little I changed this image. I cropped it and adjusted the contrast slightly. I got very lucky with this photo.

Spouse and I worked very hard painting today. Spouse worked much harder. I got tired and stopped for breakfast around 11 and then stopped for the day around 3:30. He kept working.

I figure that our living room covers about half of the surface area of our house. There's the entry, the stairs and the upstairs landing. Between the two of us, we painted 90 percent of it. Still a bit left. But not bad for one day's painting. I stopped when my hands started to shake. He worked much longer and much harder.

We have a 'cathedral' ceiling in the living room. Read 'goes to the top of the house'. I was worried about how he was going to paint it. I knew the ladder wouldn't reach. Knew I wasn't even going to try. He was considering bricks, boards and balancing on the stairs. I looked at that and considered how much I love my husband and how little I want to be a widow.

He'd been painting with an extension rod on the paint roller. I looked at the arrangement he was thinking of; balancing the ladder on and asked if they had longer sticks.

How stupid am I? Twenty and thirty foot ladders are expensive. Balancing on them is treacherous at best. They must have extensions for painting. And they do. $38 dollars. Cheap at a hundred times the price. Husbands like this one are priceless, and I'm not willing to lose him.

We still have a couple of hours work left for tomorrow. But my husband is alive, the walls look really nice. I'm willing to work a few more days to have both of those things.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter