www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Oh, Frog Turds

2002-06-18

There are little froggie turds in the frogarium! To many people this would be a nuisance. To me it's proof that they're eating. Of course the fact that they're still alive helps, too. But I have no idea how long frogs can go without food. I'm very pleased that my fruit fly theory worked out.

I have two more four legged tadpoles that will be added to the group, probably tomorrow or the next day. It amazes me how fast the transformation progresses once it's begun.

The hot weather seems to haved killed all of the nasturtiums at once. Just as well. The aphid infestation had reached enormous proportions. I'll cut them back and shake out the seeds and leaf bits into the planters. I need to collect some seeds as well. A couple of people have said they would like to have some. Just as long as I warn them in advance. Nasturtiums will try to take over the world once they're started.

I seem to get new color combinations from them every year. They started out yellow, orange, a sort of orange sherbert and red. Now I have yellow with orange throats, a pale cream that's almost white, the orange sherbert with a yellow throat. Yellow with a red throat. This year it seems that the red has blended with the orange sherbert and I have a sort of cool red that is impossible to describe.

I've seen seeds for a type I've never seen before in the stores. 'Alaska', I think, with variegated leaves. I think I'll get some and throw the seeds in with the others and see what happens.

On an entirely different subject, it's our anniversary. We're going to go have dinner in an old church that's been converted to a restaurant. It'll be the first time our marriage was celebrated in a church.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter