www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

A New Flowering Vine

2001-09-06

Planted a vine this weekend whose common name is �Purple Hankie Vine�. Yeesh. I hate that name. The scientific name went into the trash with the plastic container it came in. I really like the vine. The opened flowers have two large purple-fuchsia bracts that make them look like purple butterflies. Partially opened flowers look like Audrey from �Little Shop of Horrors�.

I saw one of these vines a couple of years ago. I wanted it then, despite the fact that it would have had to ride home with four other people in a medium-sized car. The nursery had already sold it, though. I found one again a couple of weeks ago while looking for another plant altogether. My husband kindly loaded it into the car after we purchased it and it came home with us.

I�m probably going to have to keep a close eye on it, the darn thing has enough arms to shame a hydra. I think it�s likely to be a fast grower. I planted it just outside the living room window, so I�ll be able to see it from inside. It�ll probably also do better there, with a little temperature regulation from the warmth of the house. The instructions on the label said that it would do better in an atrium, except in Southern California.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter