www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

The End of the World As We Know It?

2001-09-11

I hear they're celebrating in Palestine. I cannot imagine a circumstance, except perhaps open war in which people in the US would celebrate the pain of others. Even during war, I don't think we would rejoice at the death of civilians. Such a culture seems barely human to me. I simple can't understand the mindset.

I'm stuck at work. I can't get the news. My computer doesn't have a sound card, so everything filters through second and third hand.

My husband is at home, listening to the news. Everything else has faded to insignificance. The question that keeps going through my mind is 'Are they done? Have the airport shutdowns stopped any other planned occurrences?'

And what will be the retaliation? Retaliation seems inevitable. But who do we hit? If it's a small group, do we just bomb the surrounding countryside? That would make us worse than them. Will we have enough sense not to use nuclear weapons?

While things are definitely not business as usual here at work, work does go on. What choice have we? Steel ourselves, tighten our defenses, and go on.

The Palestines have lost any sympathy they may have had in this country. If I were of Middle Eastern descent, I'd be looking for a way out of this country. Not a good thing, but very likely true.

My husband, the eternal pessimist, is waiting and watching for someone to drop a nuke so he can watch it on television. While I don�t think that the US would use nuclear weapons, I have no such delusions about the Middle East. I think security in the old USSR is lax enough for someone to steal a warhead. And if we do anything too drastic in response, China or Russia could very well get involved. My husband says that�s been a scenario for the start of WW3 for some time now, and I believe it.

I wait with bated breath to see what the response will be. The incident has already been compared to Pearl Harbor. And the loss of life is much greater in this case. Have they �Waked the Sleeping Giant�?

P.S. It has been brought to my attention that it sounds like I am advocating or promoting racism againt people of Middle Eastern descent. Nor am I suggesting they leave this country. Nothing could be farther from the truth. I'm worried about what will happen in this country next. While I understand that it was a group of about three thousand people in Palastine doing the celebrating, I still don't understand the mentality that thinks that something like this should be the occassion of joy.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter