www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

The Field Has Stopped Singing

2001-08-02

The field has stopped singing. My husband and I walk for exercise. There was this empty field between an office building and a residential area; the habitat for insects birds, rabbits and other wildlife. During the spring, when we walked by the field it was filled with the songs of the wildlife. It was wonderful to walk by and watch the finches hanging from the tops of the mustard plants, the doves on the ground, bowing and cooing their courtship dance.

There�s been a sign up for a while that said a new three-story office building was going to be built on the site. Of course the office building right next door is one third empty, as are most of the industrial complexes in our area. I�ve been hoping against hope that maybe they�d forget about the new office building, or their financing would fall through. When I drove by the field this morning, the bulldozers were there. All the brush had been plowed down. The field has stopped singing.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter