www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Egg ejection prevention

2007-05-06

The weather went from early April to late June in one swell foop.

Yesterday, low 70's, today 90's. Paired with winds violent enough that our little mama hummingbird seems terrified, clutching on to that tiny nest to keep those little pearl-sized eggs from flying.

I hope the fates see fit to calm the winds. I swear if I find little egg fragments in the atrium I will cry. She's got another five or six days and there will be teeny, tiny hummingbird babies insead of just eggs.

And she seems to be hanging on, literally. Her little beak pointed at the sky. When it's calm she leaves the nest at regular intervals. For now she seems to be holding on tight to that nest. Egg ejection prevention system.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter