www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Delusions of Junglehood

2006-07-31

Yipee! Mom got out of the rehab facility and is at home. She�s still in a fair amount of pain, but she�s been up and around. I think the extra activity tires her, but she has to get moving now or she might never.

I�ve been working in the front yard pretty regularly. I don�t enjoy working out there as much, I don�t spend any time out there, so it�s pretty much thankless. But a large shrub died and there were weeds popping up everywhere, so I really had to.

I took out the shrub with not too much effort and decided to put daylilies in the blank spaces. I�ve never really liked them, but they�re pretty much carefree and they come in a lot of colors. I got 3 different colors in 1 gallon pots. I�m dividing each of the plants so I can put 3 on each side. Turn 3 plants into 6, it�s practically magic.

I found another added benefit to the daylilies. Spud the tortoise loves the blossoms. Free tortoise food! I knew that people can eat the blooms, so I figured I�d try the tortoise.

My new best friend is cocoa mulch. Mulch made out of the leftover pods from cocoa beans. I like it because, a. I can lift a bag of it all by my lonesome with no trouble, b. Slugs and snails don�t like to walk (?) across it, c. Caffeine is poisonous to slugs and snails, d. it covers a multitude of sins.

Needless to say the front yard is starting to look like people live there, instead of a crazy gardener to delusions of junglehood.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter