www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Cringing for gophers

2006-03-02

Well, my boss didn't waste three minutes before she asked me, A. If I wanted the job that was being vacated, and B. If I didn't, would I fill in?

The answer was B, sort of. I told her she can't have my Fridays. So in the interim, until they find someone new, give or take six months, I work four days a week.

The calls we get here never cease to amaze me. Today it was gophers. One of the local residents, who lives in a house backed up to the undeveloped hills complained of gophers in her yard. She claimed that the gophers were coming from the flood control channel and because the unpaved area around the channel was in her mind city property, the city was responsible for the gophers and it should be responsible for their removal.

Never mind that the land is owned by the county, I can't believe that this lady wanted us to start an all-out gopher slaughter because they were in her yard. I know that gophers can be pests and I wouldn't want them living in my yard, but we moved in on them. They're just reclaiming a little bit of space. The thought of trying to kill all the gophers that get into this lady's yard just makes me cringe.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter