www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Found

2005-09-19

We got a call at 8:30 on Saturday morning. Someone in the neighborhood around the corner thought they had seen her in their park and on the embankment behind their house. I don�t think I�ve ever been so grateful to be woken by the phone in my life. So we raced over there and started climbing the hillside and searching the park.

It�s a small neighborhood, with a park and a sort of wild land area in the middle. It has a few aspens, lots of grasses, and wild roses. Try to find a little gray cat in park with green-gray grasses and grey-brown dirt! We searched for a couple of hours with no luck.

I went back to the house, picked up a towel and a book and went and sat under a tree in park. I figured if I saw her, maybe I could coax her to me. I did see her, walking from one grassy area to another. I called her and she looked over her shoulder at me and walked on. By the time I got to where she�d been there was no sign of her.

After that we had to go to my sister�s birthday party, as we were the one�s bringing the food. We ate, sang birthday songs, had ice cream and cake and then the Spouse and I went back to the park. We walked around, calling and shaking a treat can. Every frelling cat in park came sauntering out of the brush, except ours. I stayed at the park until near dark. The spouse went back and searched the corner of complex that abuts the neighborhood I was searching.

That night I decided we needed to leave the gate open. In the unlikely event that she decided to come home. So I propped the back gate open with one of my fabulous cement sculptures, and used a bungee cord to keep the gate from falling all the way open.

The next morning at 7:30, with a heavy and frustrated heart I drove back to the park to start looking again. How do you catch a cat that doesn�t want to be caught? With all the other cats in the neighborhood, traps are just not an option.

Just as I got to the park, my cell phone rang. My husband was calling to tell me she was back. I raced back home and there she was, looking none the worse for wear. She does have a scrape on her jaw and all she did yesterday was eat and sleep.

We drove around yesterday evening, taking down the lost cat flyers. On one someone had written �Coyote lunch?� I want to go back there and leave a post-it note saying, �Not coyote lunch! Found thanks to stupid notices posted everywhere.�

We also caught the president of our homeowner�s association (the biddy brigade) pulling the notes down. We rounded the corner on her block and she was walking away from the mailboxes, crumpled notices in hand. My husband stopped, backed up and we went around to the next block. A few moments later, she rounded the corner of that street and saw us taking down the notices. She backed up and drove away.

I swear the woman has all the sympathy of a stone. The notices had been up for two days. I called her some very uncomplimentary names. Later, as my husband was taking out the trash she stopped by, asking if �the pretty kitty� had been found. Hypocrite. I figure she felt guilty about having been caught taking the notices down and thought she had to express false sympathy so we wouldn�t think she was a nasty old bat.

But the cat came back, and the knot in my stomach and the ache in my chest are gone.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter