www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Had just a lovely day today.

2005-08-25

Of course, the lovely part didn�t actually start until noon, work being work and all.

But today was Farmer�s Market day. A tradition I�m starting to count on.

A. It�s beautiful. All of the colors and contrasts. I keep meaning to bring my camera. I will, you�ll see.

B. Food, glorious, fresh vegetables. And wonderful junk food, too.

C. The music. Last week is was a not-so-young group of people singing Monkey songs, among other things. One day it was a guy with an accordion. Today it was a younger group singing a wide time-line of songs. I walk through the market swinging my bags and singing songs in my head.

D. My Favorite Vegetable Vendor. Last week I bought purple long beans from him and he gave me a quick outline of how to cook them. This week I bought long beans again and asked him what would be good for soup. He gave me, as in, for free, a squash and a stalk of lemon grass. He gave me outlines for a couple of recipes for the squash (stuff them like egg rolls, bean sprouts, noodles, a little bit of egg, or dice them for soup with the lemon grass.) This guy is my kind of person. He dispenses both knowledge and pleasure.

My favorite thing was the vegetable/recipe guy. He was so cool. And he sure as heck will get all of my business and any I can direct his way. He even told me how to grow my own lemongrass from the single stalk he gave me. A plant person and a food person. How good can it get?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter