www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

I've had an odd thing happen.

2005-08-17

No, not that noise.

Stuff at work. The temp work I�ve been doing in the city that grew up in the shadow of the Mouse.

They�ve like the work I�ve done.

The thing is, I�m excited. I�ve liked working with these people enough to ask for the temp job that I had. As a receptionist. A receptionist with not nearly enough to do. Unfortunately for me, a receptionist that did not speak Spanish. That�s the reason they gave for not hiring me. I don�t speak Spanish. And I understand that reason. The City has a high Hispanic population. I�d get two or three calls a day from Spanish speakers. Eight out of ten I could understand well enough to get them to the appropriate person, but not all.

So they hired a Spanish speaker. The person that was my boss sent out an e mail before I left and came up with another six months of work in various departments.

Then, on the day I was leaving for vacation one of the mayor�s admins spoke to me. They want me to work in the office of the mayor and city council. Urk!

Now, I know if won�t be peaches and cream. It will be hard work. One of my co-workers is terminally AR, a characteristic necessary to the job, but not necessarily easy to get along with. And not willing to take blame for errors. More of a shifter of blame. Still, they work hard. And it will be interesting work.

I�m finding more than passing strange.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter