www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Yard Work

2005-07-19

My goal this weekend was to work in the yard. Trim back the vines, empty and replant a couple of overgrown plants, plant the plants that I've bought during the last couple of weeks. Well, I did all that, most of it, but my gardening session was entirely overshadowed by my husbands work.

The back of our house faces out onto a pathway/common area. I've made a couple of stabs at planting back there, mostly just because I want more space, but I'm not very motivated to work out there. Not to mention half of it has been overgrown by asparagus fern planted by the previous owners and saplings that spring up everywhere. I told the spouse I'd like to take out the asparagus fern. It's very pickery and keeps trying to grow over the gate.

Well, the spouse went out there Saturday and went to to work. He cut down all of the saplings that were of a size he could handle and pulled up all of the asparagus fern. In front he trimmed the rosemary, cut back the creeping thyme that growing over the driveway and took all the dirt that the neighbor had thrown into our bushes while he was paving over his mom's front garden, (not enough cement paving in the world, doncha know).

The amount of greenery cut down was amazing. And problematic. The trash company decided last week to come at 7:00 am instead of noon. Normally the Spouse puts the trash out before he goes to work. So we had four full cans of trash, five bags of clippings and one large bundle of saplings. This might not have been such an issue if they had posted the trash time change someplace besides the back of the mailbox.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter