www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Strange fruit, good food

2005-07-15

My co-workers are swearing that I'm a weirdo magnet. More odd things have happened since I've been here.
On Wednesday it was chocolate pudding fruit.

A guy came in the office when almost everyone else was at lunch. I was at the front desk all by my lonesome. He was carrying to large bags of something.

He stood in front of my desk and started talking. He said that if knew someone who had some exotic fruit he would like it if they would share with him, so he brought us this marvelous fruit that tastes like chocolate pudding. He took one out of the bag and sliced into it. It wasnot appetizing looking. He took a slice and handed me one. He took a bite and then encouraged me to taste also. Against my better judgement, I took a very small bite. Didn't taste like chocolate pudding either.

He went on to say that some people ate it for dessert and some people had it for breakfast with orange juice.

His manner the whole time was twitchy. Made me afraid there was more to his bags of fruit than fruit.

I asked him if he would like me to give them to someone in particular and he asked me to just share them around. He also declined to give his name.

After he left we took the fruit out and put it in the trash. I felt bad about throwing it away, but not bad enough to eat it. Then I looked the stuff up on the internet. One of the common names for it was "axle grease fruit." Mmmm, yummy.

Speaking of yummy, I ate at this place for lunch. I've only had Vietnamese food once before and it involved pressed fish. This place was a whole 'nother story. Great food, very nice ambience. It felt like I�d gone someplace else for a little while. Made me want to watch �Scent of Green Papaya� again.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter