www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Bored and yak, yak, yak

2005-07-10

I�m going to re-do the patio. My first thought was to dig the whole thing up, but youngest sister thought that was a bad idea and that I should do a section at a time. A much more reasonable idea. Not that I�m likely to be able to dig up the whole yard at once in any case. I�m just really feeling a need to clean stuff out, dig up the stuff that I don�t want and get rid of it! I�d hate having the whole place be bare. It would be depressing.

I�m starting to get a little peeved about the whole West Nile Virus thing. The whole �Stop West Nile Now!� thing. Has anyone taken a look at the maps? Since 1999 West Nile has made it�s way from the extreme East Coast of the United States to the far West Coast in the space of four years. I don�t think the disease is even controllable.

Now, I�m all for mechanical controls. Empty anything that can hold water on your property. Take care of pools and ponds appropriately. Who wants more mosquitoes anyway? But mosquitoes can live in a soggy lawn, for crying out loud. There�s not enough bug spray in the world to kill all of the mosquitoes. If there were, it would kill everything else, including us, long before mosquitoes breathed their last.

I really hate the government�s knee-jerk �Spray �em all dead!� response. I don�t think we need to be throwing more poison into the environment than is there already. I suppose they�re doing something just to be seen to be doing something, even if it�s ineffective and messes up the environment.

OK. End of rant.

This has been one of the most boring workdays I can remember. I�ve been trolling for work all morning. So far I�ve had a three-page document to proof. Half of the people in the office aren�t, so I have far fewer people to ask. My co-worker is also out today. She�s a really nice, intelligent person. And she seems to appreciate my sense of humor. At least she listens to my running commentary without complaint. So she must be fabulous, right?

I�m hoping to begin the patio re-beautification project this weekend. I have way too many pots, some of which are looking pretty scroungy. I�m going to get rid of as much as I can bear. Some of them look OK, but I just don�t like the plants. They go, too.

Of course, I bought plants yesterday at the farmer�s market. A perennial basil, a pear tomato and a Japanese guava. The guava will no doubt end up being problematic unless I can bonsai it to a size that I keep on the patio. Perhaps it can go into one of pots soon to be emptied.

I have totally been flaking on my walking. I�d like to start a new, more varied exercise program, but between work, hiking back and forth to hospitals, yard sales and booth upkeep I haven�t felt like doing the necessary research. I�ve been feeling kind of run down for the past couple of weeks. I need to a. get back on the treadmill, b. start taking my vitamins or c. both of the above.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter