www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Boy Scouts and Honesty

2005-07-03

I took Thursday off to go with Dad, youngest and middle sister to the hospital for Mom to have an angiogram and maybe a stent; if she needed it.

I, youngest then middle sister showed up.

Dad, sisters and I hung around in the hospital until the Doc came out.

The news was actually better than expected. Mom�s heart function was 20% better than it was a few weeks ago. And the doc put in the stent, so, with any luck, she�ll feel better soon.

So,

Went with Mom to the antique mall where we sell the stuff we buy. I spent the drive being grateful that Mom still wants to go with me. She�s a bit sore in the leg where they threaded up the stuff for angiogram and stent, but she�s up and walking.

I asked her if she wanted to go buy fireworks for the family 4th. Lucky me, they hadn�t bought them yet. There are almost no cities in our area that allow non-professional fireworks. But my parent�s town still does, so after we went and left my stuff at the antique mall we went a bought fireworks.

The guy behind the counter told us all about the stuff they were selling. These are almost all Boy Scout booths. I had a few questions. Mom picked out the assortment she wanted to buy based one the amount of money she wanted to spend. We bought a couple a few sparklers and a few snakes. Then we went back to the car.

As we were exiting the parking lot I noticed that the guy that had helped us was out there. �Oh, there they are, they�re just leaving.� I told Mom that the guys from the booth were going to stop us on the way out.

And he did. He told us that we�d overpaid. And he gave us the money we�d overpaid. He said that money is tight, for everyone.

To be perfectly honest, I�d rather have given the organization he worked for the money. But I�d rather give an honest guy the honor of being honest. No way I could take that from him.

I�m sure I can find an easy way to give the Boy Scouts money; I�m not sure how to tell an honest guy how much I appreciate his honesty, and what a good example he sets.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter