www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Homecoming and a finished drawing

2005-03-25

Mom finally got home on Thursday. I would have been afraid to be her doctor, had he told she must stay just one day more. I called her at 10 am on Thursday and she had her theoretical bags packed and was pissed off because her Doc told her that her heart rate was still too high.

She, in no uncertain terms, told him that she was going home; if it meant her life she was going home.

I know, from personal, terrible experience, exactly what that means. If you care enough about your surroundings to need to go home that bad, they better let you.

Hospitals are just gawdawful places to be. They vacuum the floors in the frelling middle of the night. Your wardmates often take up screaming during the wee hours of the morning. The food, at best, is assembly line food. And if you have any kind of special diet, say a cardiac diet, like my mom, or a kidney diet, like mine, they extract every last bit of flavor from the food by removing the salt.

Mom got out home at 9:30 PM on Thursday. Dad e-mailed us to let us know.

On another subject entirely; I finished a drawing today. One that I started over a year ago. I trashed the first draft and started it again when the things that I didn't like about it mounted up.

But I'm nearly happy with the finished piece. I don't think that's ever happened before. Mostly when I'm done with them I just think about how I wish I'd done better. There are still a few things that might be better if done another way, but all in all, I like it. I actually set it up on the mantel so that I can look at it for a few days before I start my next piece.

This is such a new experience for me, I don't even know how to describe it. I'm so glad I started over. I'm so much happier with everything about the piece. I kept the best parts of the first piece. And my husband put it best. If you can repeat what you liked in the first place, then it wasn't an accident.

I think that this might be the first time in my life that I'm actually seeing myself as having some talent as an artist.

I so want to show someone this picture. But I really don't have anyone to show it to. My family doesn't really appreciate the genre. Fantasy illustration doesn't appeal to everyone.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter