www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Teaspoons and Frozen Mandarins

2005-01-06

YTD - 14.25

Went over to my parents house on Tuesday to celebrate my nephews birthday. Unfortunate boy, he was born three days after Christmas and every year celebrates his day on the first reasonable opportunity.

He wanted a Harry Potter chess set and got it. He immediately set it up in the living room. I went in we had a game. He beat me, the little runt. Although I can hardly call him a runt, he�ll be taller than I am within the next six months. And he�s ten for crying out loud. I can only console myself with the fact that I�ve never been very good at chess, and I�ve been short all of my life.

Did you know that teaspoons can make you cry? No, not as torture devices, just by existing. On Christmas Day Dad confided that he�d ordered a replacement teaspoon for my parents� silver set. One had been missing for years. On Tuesday it came with the mail while we were having lunch. Dad opened the box and handed Mom the spoon and the waterworks started. Crying is sort of a chain reaction in our family. First Mom, then Dad, then me. Youngest sister escaped by sheer self-control and some humor.

We have had a break in the rain for the last two days. The first in the last ten or so with no rain all day. I took advantage of the relative dryness to go out and do some vicious pruning. This evening there are three trashcans full.

I also got my replacement plants today.

This is a Mandarin plant that has not been frozen:

This is one that has:

Ash has taken to sleeping in the oddest places. One of the most recent, any annoying, is atop the landscape miniatures my husband has made for D&D. Ack! Monster cat!


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter