www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

the world as i see it

2005-07-03

Been a weird week.

Happy, sad, interesting, dull.

At work, the questions come, fast and furious.

After several weeks, most of them are familiar, but some always surprise me.

This week;

�There are hundreds of dead dragonflies in my yard and the yards surrounding my house. I don�t know what killed them, but I�m afraid it will hurt my dogs if they eat them. What�s going on?�

Answer: �I don�t know. Call vector control. Are you near a body of water? They might be spraying for mosquitos.�

I had no answer for that one. And vector control doesn�t actually answer it�s phones. Prepare for voice mail hell you who call.

Then, one much more satisfactory; �is there a Veteran�s Hospital in �*****�? I have 40 years worth of National Geographic Magazines and I really don�t want to throw them away. Do you know anyone who would want them?�

I stammered and stuttered for a few seconds and put the phone on hold. I asked my coworker if she thought I would be doing wrong if I told the lady that I would want them. My co-worker said no.

I told the lady that it was totally personal, no charities involved, but I would like them. I gave her my name and she gave me her address.

Yesterday I went and picked up 480 magazines. She was a wiry lady probably 20 some odd years older than I. She and her son helped me load up the magazines and a couple of chairs that she wanted to get rid of. The magazines were free. The chairs I paid for.

I�ll let you know how things balance out. I�m not sure what I�m going to do with nearly 500 magazines.

But I remember reading Dad�s National Geographic
Magazines.

He used to get mad at me for cutting the pictures out and pasting them on the walls of my bedroom. When all of the other girls were pasting up pictures of the latest teen idol, my walls were covered with National Geographic
Photos.

Looking back on that now, it seems like I was destined to be a photographer. And if I had any choice of career, right now, that would be it. To show people the world as I see it.

The world as I see it. It�s so beautiful. It�s so worth saving.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter