www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

China - Part 5

2004-10-31

China - Part 5

9/23/04 - Ming Tombs, Spirit Way, Great Wall

Had to be on the bus at 6:30 am this morning. After a 40 hour day, it was one of the hardest things I've done in recent history. I find myself nodding off at inappropriate moments.

First on the list were the Ming tombs and the Spirit Way.

I find it interesting that all the landscaping, including all the willow trees planted along the Spirit Way, has been done in the last 15 years.

Our guide told us that at night the sitting statues stood, and the standing statues sat. I think that story was made up for the benefit of the tourists.

It didn't take long before my usual interest in microlife took over. I found these really beautiful spiders in several places. I'm ever so sorry the photos of the dorsal sides didn't come out. Brilliant tourqouise and green. The ventral sides were almost colorful enough to make up for it.

After that there was a mud dauber wasp building a nest in what I thought was an unusual place.

Next on the list, the Great Wall.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter