www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

A new window on the world

2004-09-17

Went to Mother-in-Law's last weekend to take her to dinner for her birthday. (Took the above on the way.)

I'm worried that she's loosin' it in her solitude. She thinks that the local gangs are hacking her Web TV because she reported some of them throwing lemons at her one of her neighbors.

There are gangs in her neighborhood. But most of them don't throw lemons at people. Their precursors, maybe. But neither the precursors nor the gang members are hacking MIL's web TV. If they had those skills, they'd be somewhere else altogether.

She has also been unplugging all of her lamps with the idea that it saves on electricity. I've seen a few articles on 'phantom drain.' Yah. If you're an idiot and don't know that if you VCR/Microwave/DVD player etc. need electricity to power their displays.

Lamps are not one of those things that still draw electricity when they are nominally 'off.'

Did my MIL turn off her VCR? No. Did she unplug her microwave? No. She unplugged her lamps.

I've been wanting to give her a computer so we could chat on-line. Now I don't. She'll fall for every scam in the book. I still can't believe she was unplugging her lamps.

We got new gates. We needed new gates. I decided on wrought iron because it seemed the easiest. And it pretty much was. Gates with screens welded on so the cats can't get out.

What I hadn't counted on was the fact that it gave them a new window on the world. Well, not really 'them.' Him. Our one, really smart feep. It's given him a new window on the world. I don't know if it's a good thing, or a bad thing. Only time will tell.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter