www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Cleaning Frenzy

2004-05-05

Today begins the cleaning frenzy. Another fine mess I've gotten myself into. And how I got into is kind of convoluted.

Mother's day plans this year were kind of problematic. Didn't want a mess that Dad would have to clean up; he's still not up to much physical labor and we're also celebrating my nephew's birthday. Mom decided that we were going to a restaurant and made the reservations. It's her day, she can do what she wants.

So we called the wonderful spouse's mom to try to figure things out. We found out that she had her own mom, whom she has cared for since I've known them, put into an aging care facility. For the last couple of years MIL hasn't been able to leave the house except to buy groceries. Grandma had finally gotten to the point where caring for her was beyond my mother-in-law's capability. We were surprised that she hadn't called us, but not surprised by the decision.

Rather than try to squish two visits on the same day, we decided to wait and go out there on another day. But later I thought about and thought that MIL might like to go along with us. She hasn't seen anyone besides her mother and us occasionally for years. She doesn't drive and if she has any real friends, I've never heard about them. If I were her, I'd do anything to see some new scenery. So I called and I asked and she'd be delighted. Literally.

What I didn't think about was that we would have to bring her by our house before we went for dinner. She's always interested in the stuff we've done around the house and she hasn't seen it for more than 8 years. I don't think there's any way out of bringing her over. So I'll be spending the next four days frantically trying to get the house into some kind of order.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter