www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

132

Prodigal stepson

2004-04-29

Had a pretty good weekend, outside of another falling incident, this time involving stairs. I really must learn to pay attention to where I put my feet. Out on thin air is not a good choice.

The prodigal stepson came by for a visit on Saturday and I surprised both him an myself by not being mad at him anymore. Felt guilty after I thought about it. I wondered whether or not he'd been avoiding coming by because he didn't want to face me. Whoda thunk that the wrath of Gardenqueen was that intimidating?

He's still living in his car, but he's changed jobs and his very inappropriate girlfriend has broken up with him.

He stayed most of the day because he didn't have to go to work until 8 pm. I got a chance to talk to him while his dad was upstairs on the treadmill. Told him that I was that he was hurt from the breakup, but something almost certainly has to be wrong with a 28-year-old woman with two kids who wants to day a 19-year-old boy with no visible prospects. If he was more mature or had had other girlfriends I might have objected less strenuously. But a family of three just doesn't seem like the best start for a boy of 19. I'd rather he have more varied experiences before he takes on that responsibility. Ah well, he's 22 now, and his spirits are up. The ex-girlfriend lets him get phone calls from prospective employers (he's looking for a second job.)

I was glad he came. We had lunch at his favorite local restaurant and went to the market to pick up items for a care package for him and his car. I get the feeling we'll be seeing more of him.

Didn't quite get around to all of my weekend projects, big surprise. I did get the most difficult one out of the way; I cast the cement for the sculptures I want to do. I really hate mixing cement. I've had three or four cement-based projects now, one of which my sister wanted me to recreate for her. I told her I would if she would hire someone to mix the cement for me.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter