www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

82

I didn't know I was holding my breath

2004-03-17

Dad had the big blast yesterday. I called him around 6:00 pm. He sounded good. I hadn�t realized that I was holding my breath. After we finished talking, I took a deep breath. It seemed like the first time in days.

Chemo can be hell in the form of endless retching. I was so afraid he�d feel like crap. So far he�s his own normal self. He was setting up e-mail lists on his laptop when I got there.

His docs tell him that the worst is yet to come. Mouth sores. I know from experience that that is much more painful than it sounds. It�s a very sensitive area. But they�ve promised him every kind of pain relief, up to and including morphine.

Still, if that�s the worst he has to look forward to, he�ll get through it. �Twon�t be easy. But it might, perhaps, be do-able.

Dad said to me, that he thought, when first diagnosed, that there wasn�t much hope for him. And the doctor didn�t encourage him.

But all of his treatments since then, have had good outcomes. I�m hoping for a good outcome, overall.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter