www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Fewer Humans and More Room

2004-02-27

It feels like a pencil point, pressed against my skin. Every human I see, every human I hear, every human I know is somewhere near me. I feel them. Like a pencil point against my skin.

Not a sharp pencil, one that's been used a bit, rouned.

But there are thousands of them. I feel them all the time. With that many of them, sometimes I feel like the breath is being squeezed out of me.

It doesn't take much to relieve the pressure, though. The garden wall has always done it nicely.

Something that I've recently found that relieves the pressure is driving in the hills. In no way is it quiet, driving on the freeway, and there are still people around, just not nearly so many.

It seems sometimes I just need a horizon clear of box-like buildings, clear of other humans, to relieve the pressure.

When I drive through our local hills I feel like I can breath a little easier.

I think we should save a little room for ourselves. There are too many people on the planet now. We need to make fewer humans and more room.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter