www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Cricket catcher and a pale imitation of cr�me br�l�e

2004-01-10

For reasons unknown to me, crickets have taken up residence in our downstairs bathroom sink. Baby crickets, never more than 3/8" long. And this has provided Ash with a new source of amusement.

I've found her many times sitting on the edge of the sink, looking intently at the drain. So this evening, when I noticed we had another cricket I immediately went and brought out resident cricket catcher. Within 30 seconds the cricket was one of 3 places: down the drain, inside a cat, or somewhere else in the house. Seeing as the cat went immediately back to her interrupted rest, I'm guess one of the first 2 possibilities. Maybe. I hope.

I have mastered the the br�l�e part of cr�me br�l�e (without burning down the house), but have yet to master the cr�me part. I am coming to the understanding that that is the hard part. Not the melting sugar part.

I am rather disappointed that I am actually going to have to master the cr�me part of cooking this dish. I'm really only interested in the crisped sugar part. But instant custard is really not the least satisfactory. Especially when you try to make it with nonfat milk. 'Pale imitation' would be a very good description.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter