www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

A Very Quiet New Year

2004-01-01

Went over to my folks yesterday. I had planned to do a little work around the garden. Turned out to be a good day for it, my dad needed someone to drive him to get his new car. At a dealership in LA. Mom would so not have been comfortable driving there.

The salesman had, of course, told him he had the car that my dad wanted. And, of course, didn't. He tried to sell him one they had on the lot. Dad wasn't going for it, so they found the right one. I hung around until we got the invoice and the price had been decided on. Then I left.

I went back and did the gardening at my folks, but he wasn't back before I finished.

I did get to ooh and ahh over it today. We celebrated my nephews 9th birthday at my folks. Mom forgot to use the Christmas crackers, so we popped them before we started lunch.

Lunch was a gourmet affair, grilled cheese sandwiches and hot dogs, cut into pieces. A great lunch if you're nine.

The highlight of the day for me was playing Scrabble with my nephews. We all scored very close to the same. I helped the birthday boy with one word at the end of the game, but that was the only concession made.

Black rice and black lentil soup for dinner tonight. I tried the black rice a while back; it tastes OK, but is rather unappetizing. But I think it'll go pretty well with the black lentils. It's all kind of an indigo color right now.

A very quiet beginning to the new year. Nice.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter