www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

As It Should Be

2003-12-30

I am spoiled. I got the stuff I wanted but didn�t ask for. Most notably an oxygen torch which I will use to make decorative stuff out of common household items. My husband is the best. And other art stuff. Oh boy!

In the garden the peas are blooming. My mouth waters at the thought of fresh peas. I love raw peas and hate cook peas.

I haven�t lost any of the plants in the front yet. Those on the side I planted first look like they�re settling into their new home and spreading out. Some of the strawberries actually have berries coming on.

I didn�t finish scanning all of the slides by Christmas. I hated to tell my Mom that I didn�t finish, but I did make a DVD slide show for Christmas Day. That almost made up for not having copies for everyone.

One of the things I got that I didn�t ask for was a camera the size of a cigarette lighter. Spouse bought one for himself shortly before Christmas. I admired it and he got one for me, too. The best feature of this camera is that it can take timed exposures. And the picture quality is really good for the size of the camera. I set it up Christmas morning at my folks to take pictures of the floor, with the level of wrapping paper rising.

I want to put it out in the garden next, aimed at the birdfeeder. I think I can do it if I set it up on my potting workbench. I�m hoping to finally get a few good shots of the goldfinches. They are cautious. Any movement makes them fly away. I�m hoping that using the little camera on timed exposure will get me a few shots.

An Uncle in Michigan is in the hospital. My cousin, a minister, has gone to be with him. I�m not sure minister is the right word. She refers to herself as �Reverend.� I don�t know enough to even correctly address her.

My Mom said that she fervently hopes that he is OK. She couldn�t stand one more funeral this year. With everything she�s had to go through in the past few months, I can only sympathize with her.

I find myself drifting off at odd moments. Thinking about the ramifications of my father�s illness. Thinking of my grandmother, and hoping I have her strength. Reliving memories of my cousin. Whenever I think of him, I think of all of my memories of him. I am unable to think of him as gone. I think of him doing all of the things he did in life.

Come to think of it, that�s the same way I think of my grandmother. The way she smiled all the time, the way she said �Hello.� Maybe that�s the only immortality we get, because I sure don�t believe in Heaven. We live in the memories of our children. That should probably scare the heck out of me, as I have no children, but it doesn�t. It seems as it should be.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter