www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Post Script to a Funeral

2003-10-26

Ah, I forgot this part. It just paled in comparison to the rest of the day.

The funeral was great. We all talked about our memories of her. Some bad, some funny, most really good.

Dad was really emotional, but he said his piece and moved on. We moved in more or less chronological order (no way to argue with that.)

My sister (I love her, and that's why this stuff really pisses me off), the one that's addicted to perscription painkillers, did really well. Everything she said really hit the mark. She said just the right things.

It really was a great funeral, if such a thing is possible. We all spoke of our most significant memories of a unique person.

One of the best things that happened was that after one person spoke, another person remembered things that they wanted to talk about.

It really was great. I need to say this now. I'll never be able to think about any of this stuff again without thinking of what came after.

She was a great grandmother. Not a milk-and-cookies grandmother. But one with properties and ideas of her own.

She was unique. The original 'Garden Queen', at least in my eyes. I feel lucky to have had her in my life.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter