www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Didn't Follow the Doctor's Advice

2003-10-19

I didn't do too good a job of following the doctors advice this weekend. I actually worked on yard projects!

Now that the wonderful plumber fixed the faucet in the atrium, I put a soaker hose around the perimeter and set up a coil hose on a stand for a sprinkler. I don't have to water the atrium any more, unless of course, I want to. Now instead of spending my time watering, I can fertilize or prune or pick up dead leaves.

Then I pulled weeds out front and dug up a plant to transplant it to the back of the house.

Then I transplanted the plant, laid out a soaker hose and covered the back planting area of the house with four bags of mulch, covering the soaker hose so that water will soak into the ground instead of evaporating.

I'm seriously thinking of pulling out all of the groundcover in front of house and putting in stuff I acutally like. I might spend more time out front then.

I saw one of this guy's shows that talked about planting food plants in with your flowers. (He calls himself The Gardener Guy, I call him The Goofy Gardener), either way, I've gotten a lot of useful, and amusing information from his show for several years now, and that advice is definitely some I want to take. I've always like growing food; it's very rewarding. And I've heard that planting a variety of plants can reduce pest problems, also reducing the need to intervene with chemicals, etc.

So, I'm thinking in both front and back of the house, perenials as a base, perenial herbs in pots, annual vegetables interspersed along with annual flowers.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter