www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

How dumb is this?

2003-09-08

Ah. I have been spending no time at all outside. It's just been too damn hot and too damn humid to enjoy any kind of yard work.

That and we've just been way too busy working on the inside of the house. We refinanced the house. At just the right moment. They started raising interest rates the week after our loan closed.

Now I know why they call it 'Labor Day'. We haven't stopped working since that weekend.

In the days before the weekend, we moved the stuff out of the upstairs spare bedroom. On Saturday morning he pulled up the carpet and baseboards. On Sunday I painted. Then he went around and finished the high spots (I couldn't raise my arms any more). Monday we laid the floor.

I'm proud of us. We're really getting good at laying hardwood floors. After you do a thousand or so square feet, you learn something. You'd better, or you're just dumber than dirt.

This weekend he moved all of the bookshelves upstairs. I've been moving my books upstairs since last week. I still went up and down the stairs about forty times. I never go up or down the stairs without taking something.

We've been getting rid of stuff, too. Moving stuff from room-to-room, or rather, floor-to-floor, is very much like moving to another house. Without the bother of buying a new house and hiring a moving van.

I go through each pile of books and paperwork and actually look at the stuff and try to decide if I'll ever need it again.

I try to be ruthless. Get rid of anything I don't really need. If I haven't read a book in the last two years, it goes. Unfortunately that covered about twenty books out of nearly a thousand. Ye gods. I have almost a thousand books. Ack.

On an entirely different subject; I have been very much enjoying my new kitten. She's almost not a kitten anymore, though she still behaves like one. She is so loving and so happy. I've decided that I want to be like my cat. I can't help smiling when I look at her. She's so full of joy. I'll probably fail more often than not; but that old saying 'Sorrow shared is half a sorrow, happiness shared is twice a happiness' rings true to me right now. I'm sure I got the words wrong, but I hope not the feeling.

If you acted like you were always happy to see someone, how much more likely would they be happy to see you?

How dumb is it that I have to be taught this by a cat?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter