www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Dog in a Cat Suit

2003-08-19

When I first got her there was a definite tinge of green in her eyes.

Now, the green is much less, but the amber is deeper and more rich.

None of these things would I ever had noticed had she not wanted to spend time with us.

I thought she was fearless. Up until my nieces and nephew came to our birthday party. I never saw her more panicked. She ran, full flouff, into the mirror by the front door. I cringed at the sound.

I think she's my reward for liking cats. I've read, on more than one occassion, that abyssinians are dogs in cat suits. This is the first time that I've seen any kind of evidence for that observation.

Before she was mine, she slept with the family dog. A nice dog, from my little experience, but a dog nonetheless.

Now, she wants to be with us. During the day she follows us from room to room. Unobtrusively, of course, but still with us.

In the last week, I've asked her to sleep with us. Each night I whistle her up. I may not call her by name, but she shows up just the same. On Monday I called her. Tuesday and Wednesday she showed up.

Dog in a cat-suit. Not quite. But close enough for me.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter