www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Go Fly a Kite

2003-07-27

My dad is invterate planner. One of his more successful vacation plans was kite flying. When he first told me about it, I remembered the forecast and was afraid it wouldn't be what he hoped.

It seems that optimism conquers all, to my great joy.

Dad bought a kite for each of the kids and had about four of his own. A huge parafoil, a long dragon-tailed kite, and a stunt kite.

The stunt kite was a great hit. Keeping a kite aloft on the beach was no great effort. Once you get it aloft, just hold on to the string. Keeping the stunt kite aloft (as opposed to doing nose-dives) was another matter entirely. That took skill, coordination and finesse. But it was great fun.

Launching the kite was a matter of having someone hold it while you payed out the string.

Then the holder let go and it was up and away.

This is me.

This is the spouse.

The kids had fun, too.

Although, my nephew found that he could put the string reel under a rock and draw faces in the sand.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter